Birth of a painting

20160923_104255You know that the paintings have their own life? I do believe they do. You may think of the artists as the tools that choose or are chosen to bring them to life. This might extend to all areas, too but I should not get into this now, because  I really  want to tell you about the birth of a painting that bears the name “Cloud”.

The idea is born in my mind or in my soul (I still have to learn about this process) and I grab a canvas to make it come alive. But during this process, the idea doesn’t like the way my hand draws it and it just flies away.

I  am left standing there, with a dirty canvas, a shattered confidence in my skills and wondering what has happened. It was such a lovely idea! why it looks so bad on my canvas? 20160923_0913391

Well, I let it fly away, because I know I will, at some point, be seeing the idea born to life by other hands, by another artist.

I learned about the travelling ideas in Elizabeth Gilbert’s book “Magic” It is indeed magic and if you are involved in any kind o creative life, this book is a must.

Back to my painting.

Just in the middle of it a rose was born and then another one and then another. I remember thinking how many roses will there be? the whole canvas? a side? they look a bit off standing there in the middle. but the roses kept appearing on my canvas through my brushes, consuming all the red I had (lucky me I had another bottle)

Then an accident occurred and some paint started dripping. Panic. I am quickly grabbing some tissue. No. Wait. It looks good.

Thank you!

Pfiuu. I find myself adding more dripping paint and I am starting to like the new idea that was born through me on my canvas.

20160923_1042531

Well, hello “Cloud”

Thank you for choosing me to be your mamma!

Leave a Reply

